New Route 219 Corridor Development Committee to meet

Posted on February 26th, 2016

by Rick Miller, The Bradford Era

Link to Story

LITTLE VALLEY, N.Y. — A new Route 219 Corridor Development Committee has been named by Cattaraugus County Legislature Chairwoman Paula Stockman, R-South Dayton.

The revised committee will hold its first meeting at 6 p.m. Thursday in the legislative chambers on the third floor of the County Center here.

According to Crystal Abers, director of the county’s Department of Economic Development, Planning and Tourism, the meeting comes at an important time “to discuss recent changes in the approach to move toward completion of Route 219 in Cattaraugus County.”

Abers said several speakers will update the committee on these changes and also possible funding sources.

The biggest change is the focus on the southern end of the proposed expressway between Springville and Salamanca, rather than extending the four-lane highway from its northern terminus at Peters Road, a mile south of the Cattaraugus-Erie county border.

While new federal funding is expected to be available for the project, the state Department of Transportation must still complete a supplemental environmental impact statement of the entire length of the corridor before any permits can be issued.

Abers said the committee will also elect a chairman.

The committee members are: Allegany State Park Regional Director Jay Bailey; Senior County Planner Paul Bishop; county legislators Joseph Boberg, Donna Vickman and Richard Helmich; Great Valley Town Supervisor Dan Brown; Seneca Nation of Indians transportation manager Jody Clark; Ellicottville Mayor Charles Coolidge; Ashford Town Supervisor Charles Davis; Hugh Dunne of Salamanca; Dennis Eshbaugh of Holiday Valley Resort; Southern Tier West Chairman Robert Keis Sr.; Robert Laforge of Olean; Ellicottville Town Supervisor Matthew McAndrew; county Public Works Commissioner Joseph Pillittere; Salamanca City Council President

Luke Stewart; Carrollton Town Supervisor James Stoddard; Industrial Development Agency Executive Director Corey Wiktor; Agriculture and Farmland Protection Board Chairman David Zilker and Southern Tier West Executive Director Richard Zink.